Carbon Dioxide Transport and Storage Advisory Committee (CDTSAC)

CDTSAC Committee Documents



Authority for PHMSA to regulate the construction, operation, and maintenance of carbon dioxide pipelines. 49 C.F.R. §§190, 195-199

Safety measures and guidance on carbon dioxide pipelines.

PHMSA plans to publish a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking in June 2024, but it has not set a date for a final rule. 
In 2009, HB 1129 authorized the SDPUC to regulate the integrity of carbon dioxide pipelines used for transporting carbon dioxide for enhanced oil recovery or geologic sequestration.

View recently issued pipeline orders related to hydrocarbon and carbon dioxide by the SDPUC

If you would like to submit a comment or document by mail please address letters to:

Commission Office
104 N Main St.
Canton, SD 57013

CDTSAC Members

The Carbon Dioxide Transport and Storage Advisory Committee (CDTSAC) consists of 9 members.

County Commission Members

Jim Jibben, Chair
Joel Arends, Member

Community Members

David Anderson, Member
Mark Noordsy, Member
Anthony Ventura, Member

Planning Commission Members

Eric Scott, Member
Marlene Sweeter, Member

Non-Voting Members

Karla Lems, Member
Adam Wirt, Member

Public Submissions